top of page

The Importance of Intercultural Studies: When Love Looks Like Learning

Updated: Feb 8, 2019

I do not feel like the subject expert on this topic. My credentials are introductory classes, sweet friends who give me grace, and 30 days in someone else’s country. They feel insufficient a lot of the time. I still feel a huge chasm between where I am and where I want to be in empathy, understanding, and action towards people who are different than me.


All the research shows better ideas come from teams with diverse backgrounds, but the research also shows the conflict that arises when you don’t understand the backgrounds of the people around you. There is a line to how deep we can be relationally when we don’t understand each other. Scripture says in Ephesians 2:14, “For [Christ] himself is our peace, who has made us both one and has broken down in his flesh the dividing wall of hostility.” The deepest misunderstandings I have experienced are cultural misunderstandings. Because cultural is subconscious. We are unaware of so many assumptions we make.


I can discuss vaguely “our differences” all day long, but this is where I want to challenge you. Learn the differences. Ask questions. Connect your life to the lives of others. For example, an assumption in American culture is that standing out and speaking up for yourself is the ultimate way to achieve success and respect. This individualism is not valued in other cultures in same way. There is a deep honor given to those in leadership above you and your elders. You do not try to rewrite what they have written. You do not disrespect what they have done. This is an effect of several cultural dimensions, spectrums of characterizations of a culture. Specifically, in the Chinese culture, it is not common speak to the professor unless spoken to or ask questions in lecture.. The next time you see an international student feel uncomfortable about speaking up in a group and get frustrated that they are not adding to the discussion, take a second to ask yourself whether you are making room for them to help the group without making them “show off”. Remind yourself what it is like to be outside of your comfort zone.


No matter where you fall on the matter of diversity in America, nationalism, cultural assimilation, if you are in Christ, you have been asked to give grace abundantly to all nations and all people. I don’t care if you think immigrants should have to know English perfectly to live in America. You give grace right now while they continue to learn your language. You give grace by teaching your language to those who travelled to make their home here. I don’t care if you don’t like being around people that are different than you. To you, Bob Goff says, “Loving the people who are easy to love made me think I was good at it… I spent my whole life avoiding the people Jesus spent His whole life engaging.” And I say, “You’re missing out.”

 

“There is neither Jew nor Gentile, neither slave nor free, nor is there male and female, for you are all one in Christ Jesus.” Galatians 3:28


“Teach me Your way, O LORD, and I will walk in Your truth. Grant me undividedness of heart so that I may fear Your name.” Psalm 86:11


“And he came and preached peace to you who were far off and peace to those who were near. For through him we both have access in one Spirit to the Father. So then you are no longer strangers and aliens, but you are fellow citizens with the saints and members of the household of God,” Ephesians 2:17-19

 

1. Society for Human Resource Management, Diversity & Inclusion, 2019, shrm.org

2. Ephesians 2:14, English Standard Version

3. For more information, search Hofstede’s Cultural Dimensions. The dimensions I am specifically referencing are power distance and collectivism.

4. Everybody Always by Bob Goff, 2018, lovedoes.org

58 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page