top of page

A Quick Word Study: Ezer

The Lord God said, “It is not good for the man to be alone. I will make a helper suitable for him.” (Genesis 2:18 ESV)


In Genesis 2, “helper suitable for him” is translated from the Ancient Hebrew phrase “ezer kenegdo”. Today, I will focus on ezer (we will focus more on kenegdo on a different day). The Hebrew Scriptures use the word ezer 21 times: two are used in Genesis 2 to describe Eve and the other 19 describe God Himself.


Here are three examples of the Lord described using the same “ezer” term to begin your study (see the Blue Letter Bible app/website and search “ezer” for more):

  • “He is your shield and helper and your glorious sword. Your enemies will cower before you, and you will tread on their heights.” (Deuteronomy 33:29)

  • “Do not hide your face from me, do not turn your servant away in anger; you have been my helper. Do not reject me or forsake me, God my Savior.” (Psalm 27:9)

  • “All you Israelites, trust in the Lord - he is their help and shield.” (Psalm 115:9)

Using context from the verses and other Ancient Hebrew documents, Ezer in the Hebrew refers to help in times of war (for more on this: check out Carolyn Custis James’s article on FaithGateway). These verses tell of helpers as protectors and shields against enemies. These are powerful pieces of Scripture that show God as a Helper who rescue and strengthen. God uses this same phrase to describe Eve, the first woman. Women were created to protect and strengthen.


Growing up, I had a deep desire to protect, provide, and strengthen - and I still do have this desire. I had always thought my desire to protect the men and women in my life opposed by womanhood. Contrary to what we’ve heard, God made women to be strong and to empower one another. Women were made to serve alongside men in times of strife, struggle, and pain in life. Do the women in your life know they are warriors?


I am praying this isn’t your average women empowerment post you’ve seen. I am praying that you can use this new perspective on women to call out the good you see in your sisters, in your girlfriends, in yourself. Men and women, are you willing to read and start recognizing how God is creating and molding the women in your life? And how He is molding you?


 

Discussion Questions:


Does this definition of “ezer” align with how God originally attended women to be? Why or why not?

Are you surprised that God called women to be warriors?

What was your original interpretation of “helper” when you read it in Genesis 2?

How do I expect the women around me to act? Does it go against the true calling of women from her creation?

How could this change the Church’s and society’s perspective of women’s role in the workplace, in her marriage, in friendships, and in ministry?

38 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page